If you wish to have an EAPUOC presentation made to your organization, or to obtain information on EAPUOC, please contact:

Rick Pratt
Damage Prevention Consultant
Phone: (780) 903-5089



Bruce Wilson was EAPUOC’s Damage Prevention Consultant for many years.  As our “man in the field” he came up with many innovative ideas of how to get our message “that it’s possible to work safely around the many buried facilities in the Edmonton area” out to the digging community.  Bruce was there when we staged our first Safety Seminar and Trade Show, handed out many safe dig manuals over the years and introduced the idea of visiting the excavating contractors at their shops to deliver the message “that every ground disturbance should begin with an Alberta One-Call”.  Following Bruce’s passing in 2006 an Ad Hoc Committee was struck to recognize Bruce’s hard work and dedication to EAPUOC and also contractors with a proven track record of following the rules with respect to digging near pipelines and other underground facilities.  Hence, the creation of the “Bruce Wilson Contractor Safety Award” to be presented annually at EAPUOC's December General Meeting.

The general criteria is "he/she be an individual who is involved in creating ground disturbances, understands the importance of consistently following the rules with respect to working around buried facilities and demonstrates concern for fellow workers and safety of the general public".

The Bruce Wilson Contractor Safety Award was presented as follows:

  • In 2016 to Joe Verbeek, Joe Verbeek Contracting Ltd.
  • In 2015 to Dawn-Marie Rice, Jatec
  • In 2014 to Harvey Hull
  • In 2013 to Ernie Johnson, AECON
  • In 2012 to Michael Gary Goebel, AltaFlights (Posthumously)
  • In 2011 to Gerry Vandersteen, Precision Gradall
  • In 2010 to Hydrodig Edmonton
  • In 2009 to T.C. Backhoe and Directional Drilling
  • In 2008 to Commercial Trenching Ltd.
  • In 2007 to Sureway Construction Management Limited

Joe Verbeek, Joe Verbeek Contracting Ltd.

Dawn-Marie Rice

Dawn-Marie Rice, Jatec and Norm Bower, NOVA Chemicals